The short answer
- The lowest hourly rate is the 3-hour home-style class at about ₩38,600; the highest is the 90-minute evening class at about ₩107,900.
- The market-tour upcharge on a 3-hour class runs about ₩24,000 — that is the price of one hour of market walking.
- Minimum group size splits between 2 or 3 people depending on the product, and if it is not met, expect a cancellation or reschedule notice.
Search for a Korean cooking class in Seoul and the listings all blur together: near-identical names, prices that differ by double or triple. The reason is not cooking skill — it is the package. Whether a market tour is included, how many hours you get, how many people must sign up, and what language is spoken are what set the price.
So I broke the fee into four axes, then divided each listed price by its total duration to get a true hourly rate. Prices are the August 2026 Klook feed listings, converted at US$1 = ₩1,400; they will shift with dates, options, and exchange rates. I am covering cooking and beverage classes only — craft one-day classes are a separate topic.
Market tour, duration, group size, language — how do the classes split four ways?
The market tour is the real dividing line. Of everything I checked, only two actually walk through a traditional market; the rest start in a studio or a hanok kitchen.
🏆 Seoul Korean cooking & beverage classes, compared on four axes (August 2026 Klook feed prices)
| Class | Market tour | Total duration | Minimum group | Language |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OME Cooking Lab market tour + Korean food | Yes (Gyeongdong Market, 1 hr) | 3 hrs | 3 | English |
| Mangwon Market + Michelin-background chef | Yes (Mangwon Market + street food tasting) | ~3 hrs | 2 | English |
| Home-style Korean class | No | 3 hrs | Not stated (max 10) | English |
| 100-year-old hanok royal cuisine | No | 2 hrs 30 min | Not stated (max 6) | English |
| K-Food japchae, tteokbokki, mandu | Indoor supermarket tour only | 2 hrs | Not stated | English |
| Brewery makgeolli making | No | 2 hrs | Not stated | English, Spanish, Korean |
| Traditional tteok dessert class | No | 50–55 min | Not stated (max 12) | English, Japanese, Korean |
| Seoul kimchi & culture experience | Not stated | Not stated | 2 | English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean |
What I left out of the table
The chef-award-winner class and the oranda (Korean sugar-puff) dessert class list no total duration, so I could not compute an hourly rate for them. Cancellation policies are also mostly hidden from Klook's public pages, so I only mention the ones that are stated. Unverified figures were left out of the table.
Minimum group size is a genuine cancellation trigger. OME Cooking Lab says it emails you to cancel or reschedule if three people do not sign up, and NOW COOKING only runs with two or more. Traveling solo? Either pick a two-person minimum or wait for a date that already has bookings.
Does the ranking flip when you look at price per hour?
It absolutely does. On sticker price, the US$43 tteok dessert class looks like the cheapest option — but at 55 minutes, its hourly rate climbs into the upper-middle tier.
🏆 Listed price ÷ duration = price per hour (US$1 ≈ ₩1,400)
| Class | Listed price | KRW equivalent | Duration | Price per hour |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home-style Korean class | US$82.65 | ≈ ₩115,700 | 3 hrs | ≈ ₩38,600 |
| K-Food japchae, tteokbokki, mandu | US$70.55 | ≈ ₩98,800 | 2 hrs | ≈ ₩49,400 |
| Brewery makgeolli making | US$74.99 | ≈ ₩105,000 | 2 hrs | ≈ ₩52,500 |
| OME Cooking Lab market tour + Korean food | US$99.75 | ≈ ₩139,700 | 3 hrs | ≈ ₩46,600 |
| 100-year-old hanok royal cuisine | US$95.49 | ≈ ₩133,700 | 2 hrs 30 min | ≈ ₩53,500 |
| Traditional tteok dessert class | US$43.15 | ≈ ₩60,400 | 55 min | ≈ ₩65,900 |
| Traditional liquor makgeolli class | US$72.75 | ≈ ₩101,900 | 1 hr 30 min | ≈ ₩67,900 |
| NOW COOKING evening class | US$115.55 | ≈ ₩161,800 | 1 hr 30 min | ≈ ₩107,900 |
The gap between the cheapest and priciest hourly rates is about 2.8×. NOW COOKING squeezes 1 hour of cooking and a 30-minute meal into 90 minutes, yet carries the highest sticker price — more than double most rivals per hour. It is a big-studio format: weekend evenings only, up to 40 people.
The 3-hour home-style class, by contrast, fills a full three hours without a market tour and lands at the lowest hourly rate. If you would rather skip the market stroll and maximize kitchen time, the math favors this one. You can find the same product on Klook; it runs in small groups of up to 10.
Is the market-tour upcharge actually fair?
Run the numbers and that hour of market walking costs about ₩24,000. Both classes run three hours, but the market-tour version (OME Cooking Lab) is US$99.75 while the cooking-only home-style class is US$82.65. The US$17.10 difference converts to roughly ₩23,900.
≈ ₩24,000
The upcharge attached to 1 hour of market walking
≈ ₩69,900
Per-hour rate of the remaining 2 hours (cooking + meal)
3
Minimum group size at OME Cooking Lab
14+
Minimum age at OME Cooking Lab
Here is how to decide. Treat the market tour as travel content and ₩24,000 for an hour is not far off what a typical Seoul walking food tour charges — fair enough. But if your goal is learning to cook, the calculus changes. Strip the 1-hour market walk out of the 3-hour fee and the remaining 2 hours of cooking and eating cost about ₩69,900 per hour — 1.8× the cooking-only 3-hour class at about ₩38,600.
Before you book a market-tour class
- OME Cooking Lab only runs on Thursday and Friday at 10 a.m., and the menu changes by day. Thursday is bulgogi, japchae, and jeon; Friday is a kimchi masterclass centered on baechu kimchi and kimchi-based dishes.
- You will be walking the market for a full hour, so dragging a large suitcase along is not realistic.
- Note any allergies, vegetarian, or halal needs when booking so they can be accommodated.
- Non-participants cannot enter, and because the class involves fire and knives, children under 14 are not allowed.
A morning course: walk Gyeongdong Market, then cook three seasonal Korean dishes
Of the three hours, the first is the market walk, followed by 90 minutes of cooking and a 30-minute meal. You can take the recipe book home to recreate the dishes later.
Runs only on Thu and Fri mornings, minimum 3 people. If you are purely after cooking skills, the no-market 3-hour class is about ₩8,000 cheaper per hour — roughly ₩24,000 less in total. August 2026 prices.
What is different about the Michelin-background chef’s class?
The logistics, mostly. The Mangwon Market class runs twice daily — 10:30 a.m. and 3 p.m. — with a minimum of just two people, but its price is not shown on the listing’s server-side data, so I have not quoted a figure here.
The conditions, though, are clear. A chef with Michelin one-star experience in Cheongdam leads the class, preceded by a guided Mangwon Market tour, ingredient shopping, and street food tasting. Meeting point is Mangwon Station exit 2, minimum age 15. Cancellation follows a three-tier rule: full refund up to 3 days out, 50% at 2 days, and nothing from the day before.
Shop Mangwon Market, then cook a multi-course Korean meal with the chef
Runs with just two people and offers two daily slots (10:30 and 15:00), making it far easier to fit in than market-tour classes that only run Thu and Fri mornings. The cap is eight people.
Cancellation is non-refundable from the day before, so it is risky for travelers with fluid plans. Do not book if anyone in your party is under 15. Conditions as of August 2026.
Does the hanok royal-cuisine class justify its price?
At 2 hours 30 minutes and about ₩53,500 per hour, it sits in the upper-middle tier. The small-group format — capped at six — is what pushes the rate up.
You make LA galbi, geotjeori, haemul pajeon, and tangpyeongchae inside a century-old hanok, then eat from hand-forged bangjja yugi bronze bowls. In other words, you are paying for the setting and the table, not just the cooking time. If technique is the goal, a 3-hour class gives you more for the same money; if the hanok dining experience is what you are after, the math holds up.
Cook four royal-style dishes in a 100-year-old hanok kitchen and eat from bronze ware
A small group of up to six, 2 hours 30 minutes, at about ₩53,500 per hour. No market tour included.
If learning to cook is the point, the 3-hour home-style class is about ₩15,000 cheaper per hour. Unless the hanok setting itself is worth it to you, there is little reason to pick this one. August 2026 prices.
Only want kimchi — or just dessert, or just makgeolli?
If you are after a single dish, a focused class beats a full-course one on price. The catch: single-item classes are short, so their hourly rate often goes up.
🥬
Kimchi-only workshop
The cheapest sticker price we saw, in the US$30s, minimum two people, with four languages offered. Total duration is not listed.
🍡
Traditional tteok dessert
A quick 55-minute format. One daily slot at 4 p.m., no children under 10, and arriving 10+ minutes late means a no-show.
🍶
Makgeolli brewing
The brewery format runs 2 hours; the traditional-liquor class runs 90 minutes. Minors cannot join.
If kimchi is all you want, the Seoul kimchi & culture experience is the lowest on sticker price, and its 1,000+ reviews suggest a stable operation. For tteok dessert, there is a 55-minute course — arrive ten minutes early, because showing up 10+ minutes late means joining is not possible and there is no refund. If you just want to whip up familiar dishes like japchae, tteokbokki, and mandu, the 2-hour K-Food class works out to about ₩49,400 per hour. Note that it tours a large indoor supermarket rather than a traditional market, so do not expect a market walk.
Two hours in a real brewery, from rinsing rice to straining
Two hours at about ₩52,500 per hour, with English, Spanish, and Korean listed. Many of these classes hand you a home-fermentation kit.
Minors cannot join, and taking the makgeolli you brew out of the country means checking airline rules. If you only want to taste it, a few glasses at a traditional liquor bar is far cheaper. August 2026 prices.
When is it fine to skip booking altogether?
In three situations, there is no real reason to pay for a class.
When a cheaper alternative exists
- If you just want to taste Korean food, eat several small dishes at Gwangjang Market or Tongin Market for around ₩10,000. A cooking class is a product priced for the learning and the process.
- If you only want to understand kimchi culture, visiting the kimchi museum or a self-guided kimchi experience is far cheaper. There are self-service options with no instructor attached.
- Traveling solo with only a 3-person-minimum option left? Hold off on booking. If the minimum is not met, you will just get a cancellation email.
- If your schedule is fluid, avoid anything with a no-refund-from-the-day-before policy. Cancellation terms differ completely from one product to the next.
Check the teaching language before you book, too. Even within the dessert category, one class runs in English, Japanese, and Korean while the oranda class is listed as Japanese-only. Never assume an English product title means English instruction.
Sources
- Klook product pages — market-tour Korean cooking class, 100-year-old hanok royal cuisine, NOW COOKING, home-style class, tteok dessert, kimchi & culture experience, makgeolli class (klook.com, viewed August 2026)
- KKday product pages — Mangwon Market chef class, OME Cooking Lab market tour (kkday.com, viewed August 2026)
- OME Cooking Lab official booking page — orderect.com
- Museum Kimchikan experience program guide — kimchikan.com
- Seoul Metropolitan Government official tourism info — english.visitseoul.net
- The Sool Company makgeolli brewing class guide — thesoolcompany.com
- Korea Tourism Organization, Korea Travel Guide — korean.visitkorea.or.kr
This post contains affiliate links. Booking through them supports the site at no extra cost to you. Product selection and reviews are independent of any affiliate relationships.