The short answer
- Of the nine classes we checked, 8 include video filming in the price. Filming isn't a premium — it's the baseline.
- The hourly rate runs from about ₩39,700 for Hongdae's 90-minute class to about ₩163,700 for the COEX 60-minute class — a fourfold gap.
- Classes with a 5-person minimum are cancelled if that number isn't met. Solo or duo travellers should stick to classes that run with two people.
K-pop one-day dance classes all read almost identically. “Learn idol choreography, film a video, beginners welcome” — the same lines repeat across every listing. From the booking screen alone, it’s impossible to tell why one class costs twice as much as another.
This article pulls only the conditions actually written on each product page and sorts them across five axes: whether video filming is included, whether beginners are welcome, the length of one session, the minimum headcount, and whether a certificate is given. It then works out a per-hour rate by dividing each listed price by class time. Prices are Klook feed prices from August 2026, converted at US$1 = ₩1,400, and they vary by date and option. Fan tours, recording sessions, and agency visits are left out — we look only at dance and vocal classes.
How do the classes split across the five axes?
The two factors that really separate them are the minimum headcount and class length. Video filming is included almost everywhere, so it barely helps as a point of comparison.
🏆 Seoul K-pop dance classes compared across five axes (as listed on product pages, August 2026)
| Class | Video filming | Beginner-friendly | Session length | Minimum headcount | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main Hongdae class (featured on CNN & BBC) | Included (photos too) | Yes | 90 min | 5 people | Issued |
| Hongdae one-day class | Included | Yes | 90 min | Not stated (up to 13) | Not stated |
| Gangnam filming + editing included | Included (edited too) | Not stated (ages 13+) | 90 min | 5 people | Not stated |
| Jamsil, near Lotte World | Included (light editing) | Yes | Open 70 min / private 90 min | 2 people | Not stated |
| K-pop & shuffle one-day | Included | Yes | 60 min | 2 people | Not stated |
| English & Spanish session | Included | Yes | 90 min | Not stated | Not stated |
| COEX Artium dance | Included | Yes | 60 min | 1 person | Not stated |
| COEX Artium dance + vocal | Included (recording too) | Yes | 120 min | 1 person | Not stated |
| Idol stage experience | Included (photos & video) | Not stated | 120 min | Not stated (up to 10) | Not stated |
Why do most classes have no certificate listed?
Only the main Hongdae class mentions a certificate on its product page. The other eight have no mention of a certificate at all, so we've marked them "not stated" rather than claiming they issue one. More places might hand out paper at the studio, but we won't list something as confirmed when it isn't.
The minimum headcount is where bookings fall through. The main Hongdae class and the Gangnam video-editing class won’t run with fewer than five participants — they refund in full or push the date back. Solo or duo travellers should stick to classes that run with two people, or ones that allow a single booking.
Which class is cheapest by the hour?
Hongdae’s 90-minute class is cheapest at about ₩39,700 an hour. The Jamsil class has a lower listed price, but its session is only 70 minutes, so on a per-hour basis Hongdae still comes out ahead.
🏆 Listed price ÷ class time = hourly rate (US$1 ≈ ₩1,400)
| Class | Listed price | In won | Class time | Hourly rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hongdae one-day class | US$42.50 | ≈ ₩59,500 | 90 min | ≈ ₩39,700 |
| Jamsil (near Lotte World) open class | US$39.75 | ≈ ₩55,700 | 70 min | ≈ ₩47,700 |
| Main Hongdae class (certificate included) | US$54.55 | ≈ ₩76,400 | 90 min | ≈ ₩50,900 |
| Gangnam filming + editing | US$54.59 | ≈ ₩76,400 | 90 min | ≈ ₩51,000 |
| English & Spanish session | US$77.60 | ≈ ₩108,600 | 90 min | ≈ ₩72,400 |
| K-pop & shuffle one-day | US$56.45 | ≈ ₩79,000 | 60 min | ≈ ₩79,000 |
| Idol stage experience | US$155.90 | ≈ ₩218,300 | 120 min | ≈ ₩109,100 |
| COEX Artium dance + vocal | US$214.39 | ≈ ₩300,100 | 120 min | ≈ ₩150,100 |
| COEX Artium dance | US$116.95 | ≈ ₩163,700 | 60 min | ≈ ₩163,700 |
The gap between cheapest and priciest is 4.1x. But don't read this table as a ranking. The COEX Artium class — the most expensive by the hour — has a one-person minimum, so it's effectively the only option if you're travelling solo and want a guaranteed session. The premium is attached to the fact that it runs even for one, not to any claimed teaching quality.
Don't take the listed class time at face value
- Many of the 90-minute classes build 10 minutes of stretching and 10–15 minutes of filming into that window. The actual choreography lesson often comes out to around 60 minutes.
- The Gangnam class publishes its breakdown: 5 minutes warm-up, 5 minutes rhythm training, 60 minutes of choreography, 10–15 minutes of filming, and 5–10 minutes of practice.
- The COEX Artium class doesn't list a class time on its Klook page. The 60- and 120-minute figures above come from the same brand's KKday listing.
- The Jamsil class runs 70 minutes for the open option and 90 minutes for private, depending on what you book. The calculation above uses the open class.
The cheapest-per-hour 90-minute choreography class in Hongdae
A 10-minute stretch followed by 80 minutes of choreography and filming, at about ₩39,700 an hour. Groups run up to 13 people and the class is taught in English.
The minimum headcount isn't stated on the page, so there's some risk of cancellation if numbers fall short. If you only have a single day free, a class that explicitly runs with two people is the safer bet. Prices as of August 2026.
What does a class with video really cost you extra?
The video itself adds almost nothing. Eight of the nine classes we checked include filming in the price, and only one — the same brand’s dance + vocal product on KKday — splits filming out as a paid add-on.
8 / 9
Classes that include video filming in the price
1
Classes that mention a certificate on their page
≈ ₩17,000
Real 90-minute price gap for the certificate + photo bundle
≈ ₩11,200
Hourly-rate difference between the two 90-minute classes
Here’s how the maths works. Among the 90-minute classes that include filming, the Hongdae one-day class costs about ₩39,700 an hour, while the main Hongdae class — which adds a certificate and photos — is about ₩50,900. That’s a gap of roughly ₩11,200 an hour, or about ₩17,000 across a 90-minute session. In other words, the video is free, but the certificate and photo set carry a price tag of around ₩17,000.
Classes that also do the editing deserve their own look. The Gangnam class films you, then delivers a professionally edited cut and uploads it to a YouTube channel — and at about ₩51,000 an hour, it costs almost exactly the same as the certificate class. If you want a polished final video, go this route; if you want a paper certificate and photos, go with the main Hongdae class. That’s really the only difference. If the edited video matters to you, check out the Gangnam class. It has 270 reviews, requires participants to be at least 13, and is cancelled if fewer than five people sign up.
The Hongdae 90-minute class that explicitly issues a certificate
Photos, video, and the certificate are all rolled into the price. It costs about ₩17,000 more than the cheapest video-only class on a 90-minute basis.
The class needs at least five people to run; if it falls short, it's cancelled with a full refund. If the certificate doesn't matter to you, the other Hongdae 90-minute class is cheaper. Prices as of August 2026.
Where should solo and duo travellers book?
Stick to classes that explicitly run with two people, or ones that accept a single booking. Classes with a five-person minimum may not run outside peak season.
🏙️
Jamsil open class
Minimum two people, 70-minute open session. Includes filming and light editing, and states there's no age or skill limit.
🕺
K-pop & shuffle, 60 min
Minimum two, maximum 15. A quick 60-minute format that's easy to fit around other plans. A three-minute walk from Namseong Station.
🎤
COEX Artium
Bookable from one person. Dance runs 60 minutes, dance + vocal 120. Sessions run Mon–Sun from 12:00 to 21:00.
The Jamsil class sits conveniently for pairing with Lotte World or Seoul Sky, and when we checked in August 2026 it was listed at US$39.75 — 20% off its US$49.69 sticker price. If you only want to spend 60 minutes, there’s a 60-minute shuffle class, but its page doesn’t state the language of instruction, so if English is a must, ask before booking. If you need Spanish guidance, the English & Spanish class is your only option, and at about ₩72,400 an hour it’s the priciest of the 90-minute classes. Compared with the certificate class, you’re paying roughly ₩21,500 more an hour — about ₩32,000 over 90 minutes — for the language convenience.
The 70-minute Jamsil open class that runs with just two people
The open class states it runs from just two students, and filming plus light editing are included. The hourly rate is about ₩47,700.
If you're already headed to Hongdae and your group is five or more, the Hongdae 90-minute class is about ₩8,000 cheaper an hour. If Jamsil isn't on your itinerary, there's little reason to trek over here. Prices as of August 2026.
What exactly are you paying extra for at COEX Artium?
At about ₩163,700 an hour, it’s 4.1x the cheapest Hongdae option. Nothing on the product page justifies that gap in terms of teaching quality.
Three things set it apart. Its one-person minimum means it runs even for solo travellers; it’s on the third floor of COEX Artium, easy to reach from Samseong and Bongeunsa Stations; and it offers sessions Mon–Sun from 12:00 to 21:00. It also lists former idol trainers among its staff. That said, it has only around 11 reviews, and some low-rated feedback mentions never receiving the promised snapshot photos.
Adding vocals via the 120-minute dance + vocal option pushes the listed price into the US$214 range, but on an hourly basis it drops to about ₩150,100 — actually cheaper than the dance-only class. The same brand also sells on KKday, where filming is split out as a paid add-on, so check what each version includes.
The COEX Artium 60-minute class that's confirmed with a single booking
Structured for one to 40 people, with sessions running Mon–Sun from 12:00 through the last slot starting at 20:00. At about ₩163,700 an hour, it's the most expensive option in this article.
If two or more of you are going, there are several classes at a third of this hourly rate or less, so the case for this product drops sharply. On the KKday side, you can cancel free of charge only up to two days before the experience. Prices as of August 2026.
When is it fine to skip booking altogether?
In three situations, you can safely skip buying a one-day class.
When there's a cheaper alternative
- If you just want the K-pop vibe, the street performances on Hongdae's Walking Street are free. On weekend evenings, cover-dance crews perform in several spots.
- Regular dance academies' broadcast-dance one-day classes are far cheaper, but they're taught in Korean. If you don't need English guidance, there's less reason to pay for a tourist product.
- If you only care about the final video, renting a studio and filming separately works out cheaper.
- If you have only one day free and there are one or two of you, avoid classes with a five-person minimum. If it gets cancelled, you'll struggle to find a replacement on the day.
Finally, check the lateness policy. The COEX Artium class states that arriving more than 30 minutes late counts as a no-show with no refund, and other classes film in a set order, so running late could cost you your video. If you have luggage, store it first before heading over.
Sources
- Klook product pages — Hongdae one-day, main Hongdae class, Gangnam filming + editing, Jamsil area, 60-minute shuffle, English & Spanish, COEX Artium dance and dance + vocal, and the idol stage experience (klook.com, checked August 2026)
- KKday product pages — COEX Artium dance and dance + vocal one-day classes (kkday.com, checked August 2026)
- Seoul's official tourism guide, "Real Kpop Dance" — english.visitseoul.net
- GetYourGuide Gangnam class details (age, minimum headcount, cancellation) — getyourguide.com
- Seoul PASS guide to Hongdae K-pop dance classes — seoultravelpass.com
- 10 Magazine Korea's roundup of Seoul K-pop dance classes — 10mag.com
This post contains affiliate links. Booking through them supports the site at no extra cost to you. Product selection and reviews are independent of any affiliate relationships.